What Happens if I’m Charged With Assault in New Jersey?

Free Case Evaluation

What Happens if I’m Charged With Assault in New Jersey?

There are few things worse than being charged with a crime, especially if it is a crime you did not commit. Often, assault charges are brought against people who were simply defending themselves. If you are currently facing these charges, our firm is here to help. Please continue reading and reach out to our seasoned Mercer County assault defense lawyer to learn more about these charges and how we can help you fight them, every step of the way. Here are some of the questions you may have.

What happens if I am convicted of a simple assault charge in New Jersey?

If you are charged with simple assault in New Jersey, it means that you are accused of either attempting to cause bodily injury or actually causing bodily injury to another through intentional or reckless action. Even if you are found guilty of threatening to inflict bodily injury on another, you can still face simple assault charges. If you are convicted of simple assault, you will most likely face a six-month jail sentence, as well as a $1,000 fine. You should also note that if you are convicted of a crime in New Jersey, you will develop a criminal record. Having a criminal record can prevent you from getting a job, renting certain places to live, or getting certain loans, among other things. This is why if you are facing a criminal charge of any kind, you need an attorney who can work to nip it on the bud and ensure your rights and future are protected.

What are the penalties for an aggravated assault conviction in New Jersey?

Aggravated assault is when certain factors are present while a person commits an act of assault. For example, if you assault someone with a firearm, you will face aggravated assault charges. The penalties for aggravated assault in New Jersey are very strict; upon conviction, you can face up to 10 years of incarceration and a maximum $150,000 fine. Whether this is your first offense or a subsequent one, our Mercer County criminal defense lawyer is here to provide you with the competent and aggressive legal representation you need. Give us a call today so we can get started preparing your defense.

Contact a Mercer County Criminal Defense Lawyer

Here at the Law Office of Douglas Herring, we believe that everyone accused of a crime is entitled to due process. No one facing a criminal matter should proceed without a competent attorney on their side. We are here to listen to your case, determine the best strategy going forward, and fight for your rights. Contact us today so we can get started. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

Douglas Herring Received Advanced Level Training on Winning DUI Cases with Divided Attention

Douglas Herring was recently featured on the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys website a...

Read More

What If I’m Caught Driving Under the Influence of Drugs?

At times, we’ve all exercised poor judgment. While you should never operate a motor vehicle after ...

Read More
See all our blogs