Being charged with a third DUI can change a person’s life forever, which is why you can’t afford to face them without a Mercer County repeat DUI lawyer. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today to learn more about third-offense DUI charges in New Jersey.
Do I Need a Mercer County Repeat Offender DUI Lawyer?
A third DUI can have drastic consequences on a person’s life. We’ve seen people lose their jobs, go to jail, and face other very serious penalties that are very difficult to come back from. We do not want this to happen to you. You can depend on a Mercer County DUI lawyer right here at our firm to fight for your rights.
Consequences of a Third DUI in New Jersey
For a third DUI within 10 years of the first, you will face incredibly harsh charges that can warrant high fines, incarceration, and more. The penalties for a third DUI in New Jersey are as follows:
- Mandatory imprisonment in the county jail for at least 180 days
- You will lose your driver’s license for 10 years
- You will have to use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one to three years
- You will have to pay a $1,000 fine, as well as an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for three years
These charges are nothing to scoff at. A third DUI can change your life permanently, as you will have also created a significant criminal record, which can prevent you from getting or retaining employment, securing certain loans, living in certain places, and more.
Potential Defenses Against Repeat Offender DUI Charges
Fortunately, with the right Mercer County repeat DUI lawyer on your side, you stand a fighting chance. Our firm is prepared to do everything in our power to disprove the charges made against you and have them significantly mitigated, or, in the best cases, dismissed. Though the specific defense we use will depend on the specifics of your case, some of the most common defenses against DUI charges are as follows:
- The arresting officer failed to calibrate the breathalyzer
- The arresting officer failed to administer field sobriety or breathalyzer tests
- The arresting officer improperly administered a field sobriety test
- You were illegally stopped by an officer, leading to your arrest
Contact Us Today!
The bottom line is that anyone who’s been charged with a third DUI within 10 years has a ton at stake. We’ve seen third-offense DUIs impact people for the rest of their lives, and our goal is to help ensure that this does not happen to you. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today to schedule your free initial consultation with our dedicated legal team.