Mercer County High BAC DUI Lawyer

Free Case Evaluation
High BAC

A high blood alcohol content can drastically impact the consequences of a first-offense DUI in New Jersey, and if you’ve been charged with one, you need an experienced Mercer County high BAC DUI lawyer on your side. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today

Mercer County High BAC DUI Lawyer | Fighting for You

Charged with a DUI in New Jersey? Need an attorney who can fight for the outcome you deserve? Anyone in this situation should do the right thing and speak with an experienced Mercer County DUI lawyer. Our firm can help fight for you.

How BAC Determines Criminal Penalties in NJ

In New Jersey, those accused of driving while intoxicated for the first time should understand that the potential penalties they may face depend largely on their blood alcohol content at the time of their arrest. For example, the consequences of a DUI in NJ with a blood alcohol content of .08% between .10% will face the following consequences:

The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .08% and .10% in New Jersey are as follows:

  • 30 days in jail
  • You will lose your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost
  • Three months with the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • A $400 fine
  • An MVC surcharge of $1,000 per year for 3 years
  • At least 6 hours per day for two consecutive days in the IDRC

The higher your BAC at the time of your arrest, the harsher the penalties you will face. The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a blood alcohol content between .10% and .15% are as follows:

  • 30 days in jail
  • A license suspension until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Mandatory 7-12 months with the ignition interlock device
  • A $500 fine
  • An MVC surcharge of $1,000 per year for 3 years
  • You will have to pay a fine of up to $500, as well as an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • At least 6 hours per day for two consecutive days in the IDRC

If you are convicted of a DUI with a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher in New Jersey, you will face the following penalties:

  • A 6-month driver’s license suspension
  • Various fines and fees
  • Up to 21 months with the ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

As you can see, the consequences of a high BAC DUI can drastically impact a person for years, which is why if you are currently facing such charges, you need a competent Mercer County high BAC DUI lawyer on your side.

Contact a Mercer County High BAC DUI Lawyer

Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today to learn more about high BAC DUI charges and how our firm can help you. We understand that everyone is innocent until proven guilty, and we will fight for your rights through every step of the process ahead.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

What Happens if You Are Charged with Assault in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, all charges of assault are serious. This blog discusses the penalties for assault con...

Read More

What Happens if You Are Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Shoplifting may not seem serious, but alleged offenders can face severe consequences if they sustain...

Read More
See all our blogs