Mercer County First DUI Lawyer

Free Case Evaluation
First DUI

Those who’ve received their first DUI have a lot on the line and should proceed only with a Mercer County first DUI lawyer at their side. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today.

Mercer County First DUI Lawyer | On Your Side

The thought of a DUI on your record is frightening, and the impending consequences most likely have you nervous about what the future holds. You can rely on a Mercer County DUI lawyer at our firm to help.

Consequences of a First-Offense DUI in New Jersey

In 2019, New Jersey announced a significant change to its laws concerning first-offense DUIs. The law states that those found guilty of driving while intoxicated will face various criminal penalties, (the severity of which depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content at the time of arrest) though they will not have their license suspended, as long as they install and use the ignition interlock device in their vehicle for a certain period of time.

The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .08% and .10% in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • You will lose your driver’s license until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • You will have to use the ignition interlock device for three months
  • You will have to pay a $400 fine, and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • At least six hours per day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

That said, as your blood alcohol content rises, so does the severity of your DUI. For example, a first-offense DUI with a blood alcohol content of .10%-.15%, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • The loss of your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • You will have to use the ignition interlock device for between 7-12 months
  • You will have to pay a fine of up to $500, as well as an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • At least six hours per day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Finally, if you are convicted of a DUI with a BAC of .15% or higher, you will most likely lose your driver’s license for 6 months, use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 21 months, and pay various fines and fees. Fortunately, with the right attorney on your side, there are certain defenses that may be available to you. Our Mercer County first DUI lawyer is ready to help.

Contact Us Today!

Even if this is your first DUI, you need competent legal representation who can fight for your rights. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today to learn more about how our team can assist you through every step of the process ahead.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

What Happens if You Are Charged with Assault in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, all charges of assault are serious. This blog discusses the penalties for assault con...

Read More

What Happens if You Are Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Shoplifting may not seem serious, but alleged offenders can face severe consequences if they sustain...

Read More
See all our blogs