While it is irresponsible and against the law to drive while under the influence of drugs, many people throughout New Jersey do so, and sometimes unknowingly. That being said, if you’ve been charged with driving while under the influence, you need a competent Merce County drug DUI lawyer on your side. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring to learn more about drug DUI charges in New Jersey and how our firm can help you.
Mercer County Drug DUI Lawyer | On Your Side
We understand and respect the fact that everyone is innocent until proven guilty, and our job is to uphold the presumption of innocence on your behalf. You can give our Mercer County DUI lawyer a call at any time if you’ve been charged with a drug DUI in New Jersey.
Implied Consent in New Jersey
The first and most important thing you should understand about drug DUIs in New Jersey is that the implied consent law, in most cases, does not apply. For example, when someone is suspected to be driving while under the influence of alcohol, they are expected to provide a blood, urine, or, most commonly, breath sample to the arresting officer. However, if an officer suspects someone is driving while under the influence of drugs, they are not required to submit to chemical testing, and refusing to submit to chemical testing is not illegal. Therefore, any chemical tests obtained from an arresting officer must be obtained voluntarily.
Penalties for Drugged Driving in New Jersey
If you are accused of driving while under the influence of drugs, you will face a wide array of penalties, depending on whether this is your first, second, third, or subsequent offense. The consequences of drugged driving in New Jersey are as follows:
- First offense: Between 12-48 hours in the IDRC for two consecutive days, up to 30 days of incarceration, and the forfeiture of your rights to operate a motor vehicle on New Jersey highways for between 7 months to 1 year.
- Second offense: A potential $1,000 fine, up to 30 days of community service, up to 90 days in jail, and a forfeiture of your rights to operate a motor vehicle on New Jersey highways for up to 2 years.
- Third or subsequent offense: Up to 90 days of incarceration, a potential $1,000 fine, potential installation of the ignition interlock device, forfeiture of your right to operate a motor vehicle on New Jersey highways for up to 10 years, and potential participation in a drug/alcohol inpatient rehab program approved by the IDRC.
Contact a Mercer County Drug DUI Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with driving while under the influence of drugs, you need a competent attorney on your side. Fortunately, our Mercer County drug crime lawyer is here to help. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring today to schedule your free initial consultation with our legal team.