What You Need to Know About New Year’s Eve DUIs in New Jersey

Free Case Evaluation

What You Need to Know About New Year’s Eve DUIs in New Jersey

New Year’s Eve is a time of celebration, and many of us celebrate by having a couple of drinks. There’s no harm in this, however, if you are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol, you can expect to face very harsh penalties. That said, if this is your first offense, you should know that in 2019, New Jersey officially changed the laws surrounding driving while intoxicated charges. For first-time offenders, the penalties they face will primarily depend on their blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of their arrest. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Mercer County criminal defense lawyer to learn more about DUI charges in New Jersey and how we can help if you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .08% and .10% in New Jersey?

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • The forfeiture of your license until you install the ignition interlock device
  • You will have to use the ignition interlock device for 3 months
  • You will face a potential $400 fine
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 MVC surcharge every year for 3 years
  • You will have to spend at least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What are the consequences of a DWI with a BAC between .10% and .15% in NJ?

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • The forfeiture of your license until you install the ignition interlock device
  • You will have to use the ignition interlock device for 7-12 months
  • You will face a potential $500 fine
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 MVC surcharge every year for 3 years
  • You will have to spend at least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI with a BAC of higher than .15%?

If you are arrested and found to have a BAC of .15% or higher, you will face a wide array of criminal penalties, including a 6-month driver’s license suspension, up to 18 months with the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, as well as several fines and fees. If you’ve received a DWI with any BAC, you need a competent Mercer County DUI lawyer on your side. Fortunately, you’ve come to the right place. Pick up the phone and give us a call today.

CONTACT A MERCER COUNTY CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER

Here at the Law Office of Douglas Herring, we believe that everyone accused of a crime is entitled to due process. No one facing a criminal matter should proceed without a competent attorney on their side. We are here to listen to your case, determine the best strategy going forward, and fight for your rights. Contact us today so we can get started. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

Douglas Herring Received Advanced Level Training on Winning DUI Cases with Divided Attention

Douglas Herring was recently featured on the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys website a...

Read More

What If I’m Caught Driving Under the Influence of Drugs?

At times, we’ve all exercised poor judgment. While you should never operate a motor vehicle after ...

Read More
See all our blogs