Will You Go to Jail If You Get a DUI in New Jersey?

Free Case Evaluation
jail dui new jersey

If you had the opportunity for a do-over, you would most likely choose not to drive drunk. Unfortunately, there are no do-overs in life. Furthermore, New Jersey prosecutors are not inclined to treat you lightly. If you face charges for driving under the influence, please read on, then contact an experienced Mercer County DUI lawyer to learn if you will go to jail if you get a DUI in New Jersey.

Will a DUI lead to time in jail in New Jersey?

That will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this or related offenses. Nonetheless, the jail sentences for DUI convictions are as follows:

  • First-offense DUI: Up to 30 days in county jail
  • Second-offense DUI: Between 2 to 90 days in county jail
  • Third-offense DUI:  180 days in county jail

Some of those days in jail may be reduced if you participate in a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program and/or are subject to other factors.

How else might a DUI conviction hurt you?

Aside from jail time, you will likely have to pay significant fines, have your driver’s license suspended, need to install an ignition interlock device upon restoration of your license and more. A conviction for drunk driving in New Jersey may result in you losing your job, damaging your good reputation and having to pay exorbitant insurance rates. With all of that in mind, you would be well advised to reach out to a skilled Mercer County criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps and begin planning your defense.

How can a New Jersey DUI defense lawyer help you avoid time in jail?

A skilled Mercer County criminal defense lawyer might have any number of defenses to utilize on your behalf. First off, it might turn out that the police did not have probable cause to pull you over or subject you to sobriety tests and thus, anything they allegedly discovered might be deemed inadmissible. The equipment they used to determine your blood alcohol content could very well have been improperly calibrated or malfunctioning on the date of the incident. Your underlying medical conditions and the medications you use to treat them might be erroneously mistaken for inebriation. The strategy your legal representative employs will depend on your unique circumstances. Do not face these charges alone. Please give us a call today.

CONTACT A MERCER COUNTY CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER

Here at the Law Office of Douglas Herring, we believe that everyone accused of a crime is entitled to due process. No one facing a criminal matter should proceed without a competent attorney on their side. We are here to listen to your case, determine the best strategy going forward, and fight for your rights. Contact us today so we can get started. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

What Happens if You Are Charged with Assault in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, all charges of assault are serious. This blog discusses the penalties for assault con...

Read More

What Happens if You Are Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Shoplifting may not seem serious, but alleged offenders can face severe consequences if they sustain...

Read More
See all our blogs