While most theft crimes involve the taking of property without permission, embezzlement involves property that is legally possessed and then taken without permission. Most instances of embezzlement occur in businesses, often where the most trusted employees face accusations. If you happen to be one of them, please read on, then contact an experienced Mercer County embezzlement defense lawyer to learn what you should know about the consequences of embezzlement in New Jersey.
What happens if you sustain an embezzlement conviction in New Jersey?
In most cases, the value of the stolen items determines the degree of the theft crime. The breakdown is as follows:
Second degree ( $75,000 or more):
- 5 to 10 years in state prison
- Fines of up to $150,000
Third degree (between $500 and $75,000):
- 3 to 5 years in state prison
- Fines of up to $15,000
Fourth degree ( between $200 and $500):
- Up to 18 months in a New Jersey State Prison
- Fines of up to $10,000
Disorderly persons (up to $200):
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fines of up to $1,000
How do prosecutors charge embezzlement in New Jersey?
You should note that the law allows that the authorities may aggregate, i.e. add together, the value of separate thefts to create a higher total theft amount. So long as you allegedly committed the separate thefts pursuant to the same scheme or course of conduct, prosecutors can lump the amounts together. If you allegedly deceived the victim on multiple occasions, prosecutors will add all the money together. Additionally, the law sets the degree of the theft crime on some types of property.
No matter the alleged amount, you should reach out to a skilled Mercer County theft lawyer to discuss your next steps.
How can a New Jersey criminal defense attorney help you?
Even though statutory law governs the penalties and consequences of theft charges, a qualified legal representative can tell you how strong the case against you appears to be, as well as how prosecutors and judges tend to handle cases like yours. As a result, you will be able to make informed decisions about how you would like to proceed. Regardless of the strength of the prosecutor’s evidence, they will still need to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. You may have any number of mitigating or exculpatory circumstances that you can use. These charges are too serious to face on your own, so please give us a call today.
CONTACT A MERCER COUNTY CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
Here at the Law Office of Douglas Herring, we believe that everyone accused of a crime is entitled to due process. No one facing a criminal matter should proceed without a competent attorney on their side. We are here to listen to your case, determine the best strategy going forward, and fight for your rights. Contact us today so we can get started.