Consequences of a St. Patty’s Day DUI in New Jersey

Free Case Evaluation

If you face DUI charges, please read on, then contact an experienced Mercer County DUI lawyer to learn what you should know about the consequences of a St. Patrick’s Day DUI in New Jersey.

What happens when you get a DUI on St. Patrick’s Day in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, it does not matter what day of the year it is, you will face increasingly harsh penalties for each time, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for a DUI or related offenses. That said, the penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol are as follows:

1st offense DUI with a Blood Alchohol Content between .08% and .10%:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Loss of your driver’s license until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for 3 months
  • A $400 fine and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • At least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

1st offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content between .10% and .15%:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • The loss of your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for between 7 to 12 months
  • a fine of up to $500 and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • At least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

2nd offense DUI:

  • Between 48 hours and 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • A fine between $500 and $1,500 and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years
  • 30 days of community service

3rd or subsequent offense DUI:

  • At least 180 days in jail
  • 10-year driver’s license suspension
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for up to 3 years
  • A $1,000 fine and a $1,000 surcharge every year for three years
  • Loss of driver’s license for 10 years

Whichever offense you face, you should reach out to a skilled Mercer County criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps.

How can a New Jersey criminal defense attorney help you with a DUI charge?

As discussed in previous blogs, a qualified legal representative will help lobby one of many plausible arguments in your defense. He or she can argue that the stop was illegal, you have underlying medical or health issues masquerading as inebriation, the testing was unreliable and that more evidence is needed to determine the true course of events. You have rights, so let us defend them. Give us a call today.

CONTACT A MERCER COUNTY CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER

Here at the Law Office of Douglas Herring, we believe that everyone accused of a crime is entitled to due process. No one facing a criminal matter should proceed without a competent attorney on their side. We are here to listen to your case, determine the best strategy going forward, and fight for your rights. Contact us today so we can get started. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs

What Happens if You Are Charged with Assault in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, all charges of assault are serious. This blog discusses the penalties for assault con...

Read More

What Happens if You Are Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Shoplifting may not seem serious, but alleged offenders can face severe consequences if they sustain...

Read More
See all our blogs