What Are the Penalties for Aggravated Assault in New Jersey?

Free Case Evaluation
person with bruised knuckles

Assault is always a serious matter, whether it is aggravated or simple. Aggravated assault can cause extensive damage to a person’s well-being, so the penalties for a conviction can be quite severe. Acquire the services of a Mercer County assault defense lawyer for legal advice and representation.

What is Aggravated Assault?

Aggravated assault is the attempt or the action of causing serious bodily injury to someone. In New Jersey, there are many instances in which you may be charged with a felony aggravated assault. These scenarios include the following.

  1. Intentionally causing or attempting to cause someone bodily harm
  2. Intentionally causing or attempting to cause someone bodily harm with a deadly weapon
  3. Recklessly injuring someone with a deadly weapon
  4. Pointing a firearm at someone
  5. Pointing a firearm at a police officer
  6. Pointing a fake firearm at a police officer
  7. Assaulting a police officer, firefighter, EMT, teacher, or other official person
  8. Causing injury when evading a police officer or committing a theft
  9. Seriously injuring someone due to negligence or recklessness
  10. Injuring someone by fire/explosives

Will I Go to Jail for Assault?

There are three degrees of felony aggravated assault charges and each one will be accompanied by different penalties.

A fourth-degree charge will result in jail time of up to 18 months and fines totaling up to $10,000.

A third-degree charge will result in three to five years in jail and fines totaling up to $15,000.

A second-degree charge will result in five to ten years in jail and fines totaling up to $150,000.

The actual penalties you are given will vary depending on your individual circumstances. Depending on who you assaulted, if you used a deadly weapon, and the severity of the injuries, your penalties may be more harsh or more lenient. Each of these charges will likely also include court fees, mandatory community service, anger management classes, probation, etc.

Do I Need a Lawyer for My Aggravated Assault Case?

It is strongly recommended that you acquire the services of an attorney if you are being charged with aggravated assault. Lawyers have the legal experience required to evaluate the details of your case and form the best defense possible. They may be able to negotiate your charges down to a simple assault or even get the charges dismissed depending on the circumstances of your situation. Hiring a lawyer is one of the only ways you can potentially avoid extensive prison sentences and fines.

What Are My Defense Options?

With the help of an experienced attorney, there are a few ways you can defend yourself against aggravated assault charges. Some defense options are:

  • Self-defense
    • Under New Jersey law, an individual is allowed to use reasonable force to defend themselves from imminent danger.
  • Defense of someone else
    • You may have also been acting in defense of another person.
  • Lack of intention
    • It is possible that although the assault took place you did not realize that your actions would result in injury or harm.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs
car seat in back of car

What Happens if I Get a DUI With a Minor Passenger?

Click to read about the various penalties for getting a DUI with a minor passenger present in the ca...

Read More
scrabble tiles that spell out plea bargains

Are Plea Bargains Allowed in New Jersey DUI Cases?

Read on for more information about New Jersey's new law regarding plea bargains in DUI cases and spe...

Read More
See all our blogs