Easter Weekend DWIs in New Jersey | What You Should Know

Free Case Evaluation
car keys

As you know, for many people, Easter is a day of celebration, and as with most celebrations, friends and families will use the day to gather and share food, drinks, and enjoy the day. That being said, unfortunately, because of this, many people make the poor decision to drive while under the influence of alcohol. If you are someone who was recently arrested for a DWI in New Jersey, you have a lot on the line, even if this is only your first offense. Read on and reach out to our Mercer County DUI lawyer to learn more about Easter DWIs in New Jersey and how our firm can assist you.

What happens if I get a first-offense DWI with a BAC between .08%-.10% in New Jersey?

In 2020, New Jersey passed a law that changed the penalties one may face for a first-offense DWI. Under the new law, the penalties for a DWI with a BAC between .08% and .10% are as follows:

  • The use of the ignition interlock device for three months (you will lose your license until you install the device in your vehicle)
  • A potential 30-day jail sentence
  • A potential $400 fine, and an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years
  • Court-ordered participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in NJ with a BAC between .10% and .15%?

Under the new law, if you are arrested for a first-offense DWI with a BAC of .10%-.15%, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • The use of the ignition interlock device for between 7-12 months (you will lose your license until you install the device in your vehicle)
  • A potential 30-day jail sentence
  • A potential $500 fine, and an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years
  • Court-ordered participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What happens if I’m arrested for a first-offense DWI with a BAC of .15% or higher in New Jersey?

Unfortunately, those charged with a first-offense DWI with a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher will most likely face a six-month license suspension, high fines, yearly surcharges, and the mandatory use of the ignition interlock device for up to 18 months, among other consequences. No matter your circumstances, our firm is here to help in any way we can. If you’re facing DWI charges, simply contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring for the professional legal guidance you need. We are here to fight for all those accused of Easter DWIs.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs
person typing on computer keyboard

What Are the Best Defenses Against Computer Crimes?

Strong defenses are necessary in computer crimes cases. Read on and speak with an attorney today to ...

Read More
stalking woman with binoculars

Is Stalking a Crime in New Jersey?

Click to learn how stalking is a crime in New Jersey and the various associated penalties. Contact a...

Read More
See all our blogs