Can the Police Seize Your Car After a DUI in New Jersey?

Free Case Evaluation
police car new jersey

At some point during this extra-long weekend that marks the unofficial end to summer, you may have imbibed a little too much alcohol or partook of one or another controlled substances before getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. On such occasions, you can expect New Jersey law enforcement to be particularly vigilant, which, to your chagrin, you discovered for yourself. Not only do you face potential traffic violations, but New Jersey police will probably opt to seize your car. If you find yourself in this unenviable position, please read on, then contact an experienced Mercer County DUI lawyer today. The following are some questions you may be asking:

Can the police take your car after a DUI in New Jersey?

Per state law, the police must impound the vehicle you were driving if they arrested you for driving while intoxicated or for refusing to submit to a breath test. You can reclaim your car or send someone to reclaim it on your behalf after the twelve-hour mandatory impoundment period has elapsed.

What other consequences do you face after a DUI in New Jersey?

The penalties you face will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. Naturally, the consequences will become more severe each time you sustain a conviction within a ten-year period. With that in mind, you may face the following penalties:

First offense:

  • Fines and fees of approximately $650 to $1,000
  • Up to thirty days in jail
  • Up to forty-eight hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for three years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for three to twelve months

Second offense:

  • Up to $1,500 in fines and fees
  • Up to ninety days in jail
  • Thirty days of community service
  • Forty-eight hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for three years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for two years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Third offense:

  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Mandatory imprisonment in the county jail of not less than 180 days
  • Nienty days of community service
  • Forty-eight hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges over a three-year period
  • Suspension of driver’s license for ten years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Given the severity of these potential penalties, you should not hesitate to speak with Douglas Herring, Esq. for a free case evaluation. After considering all of the circumstances in your case, Mr. Herring will educate you as to your most viable options and vigorously implement the one you choose. So, give our firm a call today.

CONTACT A MERCER COUNTY CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER

If you face a criminal matter, contact The Law Office of Douglas Herring to schedule your initial consultation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs
dui defense new jersey

What Are Some DUI Defenses in New Jersey?

If you face charges for DUI in New Jersey, you should know what defenses you may employ. Read on for...

Read More
dui dismissed new jersey

How Do You Get a DUI Case Dismissed in New Jersey?

An indictment is not a conviction. With a good New Jersey lawyer working on your behalf, you can hav...

Read More
See all our blogs