Though the possession of certain amounts of recreational marijuana is now legal in New Jersey, the state still has strict laws regarding various other types of drug possession. It is illegal to purchase, possess, distribute, or sell drugs within the state. When facing drug possession charges, it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced Mercer County drug crime lawyer to help your case.
What happens if I am convicted of a drug possession charge in New Jersey?
When a person is found in possession of drugs, they can face certain penalties. These penalties can vary depending on the type of drug and the amount of it that was in the individual’s possession. The laws in the state of New Jersey are as follows:
- Possession of Narcotics or Controlled Dangerous Substances: This includes drugs such as cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, acid, ecstasy, and more. Offenders can face 3 to 5 years in prison, a fine between $1000 and $25,000, a loss of their driver’s license, and mandatory drug education and rehabilitation programs.
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia: Consequences can include up to 6 months in prison, a fine between $500 and $1000, and a suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years.
- Simple Possession of Prescription Drugs: Offenders can be charged with a third-degree indictable offense, facing up to 5 years in prison and significant fines.
What are the penalties for intent to distribute charges in New Jersey?
The possession of a drug with the intent to distribute it is a very serious charge. Similar to regular possession, the consequences can vary depending on the type and amount of the drug. The laws within the state are as follows:
A person caught with heroin or cocaine can face the following penalties:
- Less than one-half of an ounce can result in prison of up to 5 years and a fine of up to $75,000
- More than one-half an ounce by less than 5 ounces can result in prison of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $75,000
- More than 5 ounces can result in prison for 20 years and a fine of up to $500,000
Those found with the intent to distribute LSD can face the following:
- Less than 100 milligrams can result in up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $75,000
- More than 100 milligrams can result in 20 years in prison and a fine of $500,000
The bottom line is that the penalties for virtually any drug crime in New Jersey are serious, and if you’re accused of possession or possession with the intent to distribute, you need a competent attorney in your corner. Contact the Law Office of Douglas Herring for help today.