Driving while intoxicated is the cause of tens of thousands of auto accidents in the United States annually. Just in New Jersey alone, there are thousands of drunk driving fatalities per year. Subsequently, New Jersey courts and law enforcement take drunk driving incidents seriously, and getting arrested for a DUI charge has the potential to impact someone’s entire life. If you’ve recently been charged with a first DUI offense, you might be worried about possibly being sent to jail. Thankfully, our experienced law firm has the answers you need! Continue reading or contact a Mercer County First DUI Lawyer today to learn more.
CAN I GET SENT TO JAIL FOR A FIRST OFFENSE DUI?
Yes, you can be sentenced to jail time after your first DUI offense in New Jersey. However, first offenders face far less severe punishments than repeat offenders. Along with the other penalties, a first offender will be given at least 12 hours of jail time but no longer than 30 days. If you hire a DUI defense lawyer, they may be able to reduce your charges and help you avoid incarceration altogether.
Whether or not you are sentenced to jail for drunk driving depends on the circumstances of your first DUI arrest. If you drive under the influence of alcohol and crash into another car, harming the driver, then you’ll likely face additional charges and therefore have a higher risk of being penalized with incarceration.
WHAT PENALTIES CAN I FACE FOR A FIRST DUI IN NEW JERSEY?
The exact penalties you receive for a DUI charge depend on the circumstances of the incident and your criminal history. First-time offenders who had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of less than 0.10% and did not cause an accident that injured others have the highest chance of facing minimal punishment.
Other than the possibility of jail time, these offenders lose their driving privileges for three months, face fines and an annual automobile insurance surcharge, and will be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) for six to twelve months after their license is reinstated.
You also risk heavier penalties if your BAC was over 0.10% at the time of the incident. These offenders are normally given heavier fines and a license suspension for between seven months and a year. Those who have been convicted with a DUI might also be required to participate in a substance abuse assessment and attend mandatory alcohol classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Have you recently been charged with a first-offense DUI in New Jersey? Are you seeking an effective criminal defense attorney who has your best interests in mind? Look no further because the Law Office of Douglas Herring is here to fight for you! Contact our talented team for an initial consultation.