What Are the Penalties of a Halloween DUI Charge in NJ?

Free Case Evaluation
halloween drink

If you received a DUI charge this Halloween night, do not wait to reach out to our firm today to discuss your options. Our dedicated Mercer County DUI lawyer will do whatever it takes to protect your rights and your future. Here are some questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a Halloween night DUI in New Jersey?

It is important to note that it does not matter what day of the year it is, a DUI charge will be just as harsh at any time, especially if you have previously sustained convictions for a DUI or related offenses. Because of this, the penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can be serious, and can include the following:

A 1st offense DUI with a Blood Alchohol Content between .08% and .10% can result in the following:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Loss of your driver’s license until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for 3 months
  • A $400 fine and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • At least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

A 1st offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content between .10% and .15% may cause:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • The loss of your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for between 7 to 12 months
  • a fine of up to $500 and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • At least 6 hours per day for 2 consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

The consequences of a 2nd offense DUI in New Jersey:

  • Between 48 hours and 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • A fine between $500 and $1,500 and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years
  • 30 days of community service

A 3rd or subsequent offense DUI charge:

  • At least 180 days in jail
  • 10-year driver’s license suspension
  • Use of the ignition interlock device for up to 3 years
  • A $1,000 fine and a $1,000 surcharge every year for three years
  • Loss of driver’s license for 10 years

No matter what offense you are facing, you should not wait to reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney to discuss the details of your case and your options. Your future is on the line.

Why should I hire a criminal defense attorney for a DUI charge?

With support from a skilled legal representative, you have a higher chance of lobbying one of many plausible arguments in your defense. He or she can assert that the stop was illegal, you have underlying medical or health issues that can mirror intoxication, the testing was unreliable, and that more evidence is needed to decide the true course of events. Our legal team will defend you and your future no matter what. Give us a call today to get started.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs
Teen shoplifting

What Happens to a Minor Caught Shoplifting?

Read this blog to find out about the possible consequences that a minor can face for shoplifting in ...

Read More
Drunk driver

Does New Jersey Offer Hardship Licenses to People Convicted of DUI?

Contact us today or read to learn more about obtaining a hardship license and the consequences of a ...

Read More
See all our blogs