What Are the Consequences of a Commercial Drivers License DUI in NJ?

Free Case Evaluation

If you were charged with a commercial driver’s license DUI in the state of New Jersey, it is in your best interest to retain the services of a legal team that can protect you and your future. Read on and give our skilled Mercer County DUI lawyer a call today to get started.

What is a commercial driver’s license DUI in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, DUI charges are not taken lightly, especially if you are caught driving under the influence while on the job. If you have a Commercial Driver’s License, the legal Blood Alcohol Content limit is 0.04%, not 0.08%. This is because New Jersey has higher standards for commercial drivers and so the penalties are that much more severe.

What are the distinctions between a commercial DWI and a regular DWI in New Jersey?

As previously mentioned, commercial vehicle drivers will face more strict punishments because they are held to a higher standard of care. This is because individuals with a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if they are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. On the contrary, if an individual is driving a commercial vehicle, he or she can be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol concentration is .04% or higher. If you are facing this unfortunate situation, give our legal team a call today to discuss the specifics of your case and your options with one of our skilled criminal defense attorneys.

What are the consequences of this DUI charge in the state of New Jersey?

It is important to acknowledge that the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol will heavily rely on the number of times, if any, you have previously obtained a DUI charge for this offense and what your level of intoxication was. The consequence of these charges will closely align with the following:

1st offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • 1-year automatic suspension of your commercial driver’s license
  • $250 to $400 in fines
  • 12 to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center

1st offense commercial driver’s license DUI (blood alcohol concentration of 0.10% or higher):

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • 1-year automatic suspension of your commercial driver’s license
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • 12 to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center

2nd offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • 48 hours to 90 days in jail
  • Lifetime commercial driver’s license revocation
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • 12 to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center
  • 30 days of community service

It is apparent that the penalties for driving while intoxicated with a commercial driver’s license can come with serious consequences. It is also important to note that the state of New Jersey does not offer hardship or conditional licenses, so if you drive for a living, you will likely be unemployed during your license suspension. Because of this, you should reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

See all our blogs
Teen shoplifting

What Happens to a Minor Caught Shoplifting?

Read this blog to find out about the possible consequences that a minor can face for shoplifting in ...

Read More
Drunk driver

Does New Jersey Offer Hardship Licenses to People Convicted of DUI?

Contact us today or read to learn more about obtaining a hardship license and the consequences of a ...

Read More
See all our blogs