Obtaining a DUI charge in New Jersey has the potential to impact a person’s life temporarily or sometimes permanently. If you’re found guilty, not only can you face criminal penalties, but your insurance policy may also be affected. Many people who have been convicted of a DUI wonder how their auto insurance will be affected. Our firm has the answers you need! Continue reading to learn more, or contact a Mercer County DUI Lawyer today for high-quality legal counseling.
WILL A DUI CHARGE AFFECT MY INSURANCE IN NEW JERSEY?
Your driving record has a substantial effect on how much you’ll need to pay for your auto insurance. This is because insurance carriers calculate their rates based on your future risk of getting into an auto accident. So if you are convicted of a DUI in New Jersey, your auto insurance policy will absolutely be affected, and you will probably have to pay a more expensive rate. Statistics show that drivers who have been convicted of a DUI have to pay 98% more for their insurance than drivers with a clean record. On average, DUI offenders have to pay approximately $1,200 more per year.
This is why it’s always a good idea to contact a skilled defense lawyer immediately after being charged with a DUI. An attorney may be able to help you reduce or dismiss the charges, and your insurance won’t be affected if the charges are dropped.
WHAT OTHER PENALTIES CAN I FACE FOR A DUI?
The penalties you’re given for a DUI depend on your criminal record and the circumstances of the offense. If this is your first DUI offense and you didn’t cause an accident that injured others, you’re more likely to face the minimum punishment. In New Jersey, you’ll be dealt fines, you’ll be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) for at least three months, you’ll need to participate in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and you could be given up to 30 days of incarceration.
You could also face harsher penalties if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over 0.10% at the time of the DUI incident. If your BAC was over 0.15%, your license could be suspended for up to six months even if this was your first offense.
Second-time offenders normally face a minimum of 48 hours of incarceration, a license suspension of up to two years, higher fines, up to three years with an IID, and up to 30 days of community service. After a third offense, you’re considered a repeat offender and could face even harsher punishments.
Have you recently been charged with a DUI? Are you seeking a highly experienced criminal defense attorney who has your best interests in mind? Look no further because the Law Office of Douglas Herring is here to fight for you! Contact our effective team today for an initial consultation.