Edison DUI Attorney States the Most Common Crimes
When it comes to DUI charges, the most common types of DUI charges are categorized accurately according to law. According to an Edison DUI attorney, the three top types of offenses are:
• Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
• Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
• Operating Under the Influence (OUI)
The terminology for each of these offenses will vary by state, but they mostly carry the same weight. Each charge will determine its punishment depending on the level of intoxication, severity, the degree of offense and whether or not there were prior offenses before that.
The most common crime includes first, second and third offenses of DUI charges each bearing different amounts of fines and penalties. In the state of New Jersey, these are the penalties for a DUI/DWI according to its driving laws:
• First Offense – Up to 30 days in jail, $250-$500 in fines, three months – 1 year of license suspension
• Second Offense – Up to 90 days in jail, $500-$1,000 in fines, two years of license suspension
• Third Offense – Up to 180 days in jail, $1,000 in fines, ten years of license suspension
In some cases of an aggravated DUI, this is where the person is facing serious charges. This is also known as an “extreme DUI” or a “felony DUI.” This means that there were a set of devastating circumstances that led to the charge. Unlike a first offense misdemeanor, an aggravated DUI can result in a felony. In these scenarios, you absolutely cannot consider not hiring an Edison DUI attorney.
Here is a list of circumstances surrounding an aggravated DUI charge:
• An extremely high blood alcohol level (BAC)
• Driving with a BAC of 0.08 or more and a minor child is in the vehicle
• Driving a school bus while intoxicated
• Driving drunk within a school zone
• Serious injury or death occurs
• Caught without a valid driver’s license
• Caused another person to be fatally injured or extensive property damage as a result
• Has had multiple drunk driving convictions within a certain timeframe
With third offenses or an aggravated DUI charge, the possible consequences are as follows:
• Community Service
• Long probation terms
• Substantial fines
• Loss of license
• Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
• Vehicle confiscation
If you were pulled over for a DUI and refused a breathalyzer test, be sure to bring that up with your Edison DUI attorney. New Jersey has an implied consent law. This law states that if you deny a chemical test to a police officer, you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
Refusal to take the chemical test as probated by the officer are as follows:
• First Offense – 7-month license revocation
• Second Offense – 2-year license revocation
• Third Offense – 10-year license revocation
If you find yourself charged with any of those crimes in New Jersey, hire an Edison DUI attorney. They will provide you with the next steps to defend yourself. Give the law office of Douglas Herring a call at 609-256-4098.